About the Awards

Aviva Investors has launched the Sustainability Media Awards, an annual event to recognise excellence in reporting across sustainability topics in the UK media. The climate crisis is the greatest long-term threat to life on our planet and societies and the media plays a crucial role in shaping debate and understanding about how to respond.

The Aviva Investors Sustainability Media Awards aim to recognise the journalists, editors and media organisations that have driven consistently high standards of clarity and investigation across national, institutional and wholesale trade press and specialist ESG publications. 

The winners will be announced on Tuesday 19th October at a special event at Aviva’s office:  St Helen's 1, Undershaft, London EC3P 3DQ. Safety of our guests is paramount and the event will be held in accordance with prevailing Government guidelines.

We welcome submissions for the categories below until Thursday, 2nd September, 2021.


Publication of the Year

Recognising the publication that has been at the forefront of the sustainability agenda over the last year (July 2020 – July 2021). Entrants are requested to submit a selection of up to five articles, an outline of any initiatives or campaigns, any expansions to the reporting team and a 300-word summary outlining their publication’s contribution to the sustainability story.

Best Contribution to Climate Change Journalism

Recognising the individual journalist or team that has demonstrated a comprehensive understanding of the causes, implications and potential solutions to climate changeEntrants are requested to submit a selection of up to five articles and a 300-word summary of the contribution they have made to the climate debate.

Newcomer of the Year

Recognising journalists with less than two years experience in the investment media (July 2019 – July 2021). Entrants are requested to submit a 300-word summary of their experience to date, their major achievements in the last year and up to three examples of their work.

Best Editorial Campaign

Recognising the editorial team or publication that has campaigned on a particular aspect of sustainability or ESG in the last year (July 2020 – July 2021). Entrants are requested to submit a 300-word summary and accompanying documentation to outline the objectives and results of their campaign.

Best News Story

Recognising the journalist or team with the best news exclusive related to sustainability and ESG (July 2020 – July 2021).  Entrants are requested to submit a full copy of the story, examples of any follow up citations of the article, and a 300-word summary explaining why the news was important for their readers.

Best Feature or Analysis Article

Recognising long-form journalism that delivers original insight or detailed understanding on a topic or issue related to sustainability or ESG (July 2020 – July 2021).Entrants are requested to provide a copy of the full article, any reference or citations of it in other sources and a 300-word summary of why it matters for readers.

Editor of the Year

Recognising the Editor who has made the biggest contribution to the general understanding of the importance and debate around ESG and sustainability. Entries are welcome from Editors themselves or from third parties. Entrants are requested to provide a 300-word summary in support of the nomination and up to five supporting articles or pieces of documentation.

Rules of Entry

The awards are open to journalists writing for UK national, trade and online publications and publications with a predominantly UK based readership.

To enter, please fill out the document below and return by email to avivainvestorsawards@citigatedewerogerson.com by the closing date, Thursday, 2nd September, 2021.

All sections must be completed. Please insert any articles for consideration under Section 4 of this document.

For further information on the Awards, please contact avivainvestorsawards@citigatedewerogerson.com
or Alex Hogan on +44 (0)7730 679 996.

If you are submitting in more than one category, please complete a separate entry form for each one.