Our Global Responsible Investment Team comprises six corporate governance and responsible investment professionals and is headed by Dr Steve Waygood, Chief Responsible Investment Officer.

Our team acts as a centre of expertise in environmental, social and governance (ESG) matters and is on hand to work with fund managers and analysts globally and across asset classes. Our internal network of 32 Responsible Investment Officers (RIOs) means that we have experienced ambassadors for responsible investment right across our business.

Team contact details: gri@avivainvestors.com


Dr Steve Waygood, Chief Responsible Investment Officer

Steve leads Aviva Investors’ engagement and voting on environmental, social and governance (ESG) issues.

He is the founder of the Sustainable Stock Exchanges Initiative and the Corporate Sustainability Reporting Coalition and was on the board of the UK Sustainable Investment & Finance association (UKSIF) for many years. He also helped produce the United Nations Principles for Responsible Investment and was part of the UK delegation to Rio+20. Steve is a member of the CFA Institute, has a degree in economics, a PhD in sustainable finance and lectures at the University of Cambridge Institute for Sustainability Leadership.

Abigail Herron, Global Head Responsible Investment

Abigail leads on environmental, social and governance (ESG) engagement across all asset classes. She previously headed up the corporate governance team of The Co-operative Asset Management (TCAM), now Royal London Asset Management. During her tenure TCAM received 'Best Steward of the Year' in the Financial News Asset Management Awards 2012. Abigail sits on the UKSIF Leadership Committee, the 30% Club Investor’s Steering Committee, the FTSE4Good Banking Sector Working Group and the Travis Perkins Non-Executive Environmental Advisory Forum. Abigail is a fellow of the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators (ICSA) and a chartered company secretary. She is a member of the Chartered Institute of Securities, a graduate of Sheffield University’s Management School and holds the UK Green Build Council’s certificate in sustainability and recently completed the Postgraduate Certificate in Sustainable Business at the University of Cambridge. She previously worked at the law firm Eversheds.

Doris Ko, Corporate Governance Executive

Doris is responsible for the submission of proxy vote instructions, ensuring effective and robust voting on over 4000 companies annually in line with our Corporate Governance and Corporate Responsibility Voting Policy. This includes comprehensive voting and engagement record keeping which includes ensuring the in-house database is updated with all voting events, vote decisions, correspondence/conversations with companies and other key information for the purpose of audit keeping and client reporting. She also manages the custodian relationships. Prior to joining Aviva Investors, Doris worked as a consultant at D F King where she advised global clients on investor relations and proxy solicitation. Doris holds a BA (Hons) in Business Information Systems from the University of Lincolnshire. She has been in the investment industry since 1994.

Nathan Leclercq, Senior ESG Analyst

Nathan leads on our governance function, including the formulation of our corporate governance and voting policies. He works alongside fund managers in assessing company corporate governance and remuneration arrangements, and ensures that votes are submitted in accordance with Aviva Investors policy. He is in regular discussion with companies and other investors to raise corporate governance concerns and is responsible for reviewing the effectiveness of our voting and engagement. Nathan manages voting & research provider relationships, and represents Aviva Investors on the Investment Association remuneration and share schemes committee, the Shareholder Voting Working Group and the UN PRI vote confirmation group. Nathan joined Aviva Investors in 2002 after a year at Northern Trust. Prior to that Nathan worked at the Manifest Voting Agency.